RSS

Sweet brown bread malt

14 Dec

I made this unique tasting malt while trying to make a Brumalt style malt from store-bought Pale malt. I can’t think of another name for it because brown bread with honey on it is what it tastes like. Brumalt starts out differently than pale malt so making it from a Pale is not actually possible. It’s steeped to a higher moisture content, germinated at warmer temperatures and has a stewing phase before kilning, but I was curious to find out what would happen if I soaked a pale malt till it had about a 50% moisture content and ran it through a kilning schedule that’s similar with an emphasis on activating the proteolytic enzymes. A good way to soak pale malt is to add just enough water so that it will be around 50% after absorbing it. This way no enzymes or sugars get washed down the sink. Make sure to keep it cool.  After the malt absorbed almost all of the water I drained the excess and then  stewed it for 36 hours on a tray covered with tin foil (8 hours 30-40C then 24 hours 40-50C). I then dried it at low temperatures 35-50C on a screen with a fan on for the first seven hours then off for the next 15.  After 22 hours of drying it was down to its original weight so I cured it for 3 hours at 190F.  What I noticed when using pale malt is that it dries faster than regular malt. Since it has been kilned once already the outer layers are now friable and allow an easier passage of moisture. Likewise, Pale malt also absorbs water faster than barley so it takes one steep of 12-14 hours to attain about a 50% moisture content or 24 hours using the absorption method.

 

6 responses to “Sweet brown bread malt

  1. Demy

    December 14, 2017 at 4:42 pm

    A special malt! If I understand correctly, have you soaked pale malt in warm water for a protein break and at the same time increase moisture? I’ve never tried such a thing, what concrete effects did you notice about the flavor? Thank you

     
    • jfdyment

      December 14, 2017 at 7:44 pm

      Hey Demy, let me clarify that, I soaked it until it was about 50% then drained it and then stewed it. Thanks for pointing this out, I’ll fix this on the post. Actually a better way is to only add enough water so that it all gets absorbed. That way no enzymes or sugars get washed down the sink. So just add the malts weight in water minus 5% to account for what’s in the malt. Keep cool and stir occasionally for 24 hours, by then it should all be absorbed. The flavour is unique but I haven’t brewed with it yet. I can’t think of another way to describe it other than a rich brown bread, with maybe a hint of molasses to it and then some honey-like sweetness on top.

       
      • Demy

        December 14, 2017 at 10:32 pm

        Thanks for the explanation. The method of inserting only the necessary water is excellent. I noticed that all the toasted malts with a high percentage of humidity have a sweet taste, even if very dark. For example, I made an experimental malt, with green malt brought to a high temperature with pre-heated oven: the malt does not have time to saccharify (even if it takes place minimally) but has a sweet note. Another experiment I did is with barley (not malted), toasted until orange, gives the beer a dry note of intense biscuit … from here you understand a lot
        the combination of wet / sweet and dry / biscuit. Do you have a similar feedback?

         
  2. jfdyment

    December 15, 2017 at 4:49 pm

    Sounds like you made Brown malt in the first example. The sweetness will also be dependant on the level of modification. In my post about Melanoidin malts I used the analogy of wet bread dough in the formation of a crust which tastes different than toasted bread which is cooked when the bread is in a drier state.

     
    • Demy

      December 16, 2017 at 9:17 pm

      I agree! I have always found different (and few) information about brown malt: from pale dry malt, from wet malt, etc. difficult to orientate. Of one thing I’m sure: my point of reference is your blog, is undoubtedly the most accurate (based on real research and field tests). In my small way, I try to experiment and talk about it here!

       
  3. jfdyment

    December 16, 2017 at 10:11 pm

    Thanks Demy! the book will be out soon, well it’s more of a booklet but I do have a section just on Brown malt and it’s three different forms, diastatic brown, blown and modern kilned brown (non-diastatic).

     

Leave a comment

 
Imbuepalate.com

To Inspire and Permeate through Chefs, My Kitchen, and Adventures in Food, Drink and Exploration.

Threefrenchs: A Fermented Exploration

Booze, Travel & Food (and maybe a few surprises)

The Meandering Meadery

Cultivating fermented food and drinks one jar at a time

Brülosophy

They Who Drink Beer Will Think Beer

Untitled RSS Feed

Growing, malting and brewing beer

Creative Brewing

by Scott Ickes

A Brewer's Wife

Law librarian, brewer's wife and mom of three girls (not necessarily in that order)

From Plants to Beer

The real route of beer

My Own Home Brew

My record and experience in brewing

Romping & Nguyening

Romping around the world and Nguyening since March 2014.

Brewing Beer The Hard Way

Growing, malting and brewing beer

Five Blades Brewing

F' Everything, We're Doing Five Blades

The ATL Beer Guy

This Guy Knows Beer -- Also visit www.pouranotherpint.com

East Happyland Homebrew Garden Louisiana

Gardening hops, grains, vegetables, and brewing beer in South Louisiana. And they said it couldn't be done....

The Apartment Homebrewer

Brewing small batches of craft beer in a 650 sqft apartment

Bishop's Beer Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Quest for Edelstoff

Making Liquid Bread

Home Bruin

The homebrewing adventures of a Boston sports fan