RSS

Feed Barley I.P.A.

29 Apr

DSC02593

Here’s what I’ve done with some of that feed barley I malted a little while ago. I know an I.P.A. is not the best beer to judge malt quality, the hops mask a lot of the malt character but I felt like drinking an I.P.A. so I made one, so don’t judge!

It’s super tasty, I’m loving these Galaxy hops. I also dry-hopped with Mosaic. There’s a dose of peach up front followed by some citrus and ending with a strong piney bitterness that reminds you you’re drinking beer, not sangria.

I used quite a bit of caramel malt and some honey as well so it may be too malty for the style but I think it’s balanced and for me the sweetness seems to accentuate the fruity character of the hops.The Mosaic hops were sent to me from John from his families hop farm in Washington “thanks John!”

It has a nicely rounded mouth feel and as you can see in the picture a creamy head that likes to linger. O.G. was 1.059  F.G. 1.013 According to Beer Tools my efficiency was 80% What was also surprising is that I had full conversion in one hour.  Being more patient than I used to be with the germination and waiting until it’s really well modified has obviously helped in developing the enzymes in the malt.

If there is a possible flaw it has to do with a faint hint of phenolic flavour that I detected in the last beer I had which would be pretty disappointing. I can barely taste it so I don’t really care but I’ve sent this one off to be judged at the local competition, so we’ll see what the judges say about it in a few weeks. The possible source may be my water. I tried using tap water treated with half a campden tablet overnight. This is the first time I’ve tried this. Has anybody else experienced an issue with this method?

Update: This beer scored pretty low at the competition. It received a 29/50 from one judge and a 31/50 from another. However, it’s main flaw was stylistic -not enough hops and too sweet. I’m usually good at taking criticism, but I do disagree that it was low in hop flavour. Maybe the Galaxy hops threw them off? I would say they’re more peachy than citrusy but this was not noticed. According to Beer Tools this beer should have had 78 IBU’s which does not include the 2 oz of Mosaic that I dry-hopped for 5 days. Oh well.  Here’s what the judge who gave me the 29 had to say:

Aroma: Moderate grainy toasty malt. Not a lot of hops. Some citrus but very faint. No DMS, maybe diacetyl, low fruity esters. 7/12

Appearance: Hazy orange amber. Off-white moderate creamy head. Retention is pretty good. Leaves some lacing. 3/3

Flavour: Moderate caramel toasted bread crust. Hops are very faint. Bitterness is moderately low. Finishes sweet and the sweetness lingers in the aftertaste. some diacetyl maybe and low fruity esters. Moderately low alcohol. 11/20

Mouthfeel: Medium strong body with medium carbonation. Alcohol warmth is low and smooth. No astringency. A little cloying from sweetness. 3/5

Overall Impression: More like an English P.A. It feels a little under attenuated with way too high sweetness for the style. I also got some caramel which I sometimes mix with diacetyl. I didn’t feel any slickness in the mouth so I assume it was caramel which is fine but it was a little high. If you used some specialty malts it might be better to reduce them . Also the hop flavour and … was lacking a little. ( I could not make out a word, the guys writing was terrible)  5/10

At least there were no obvious off flavours. Looking at the recipe it probably was too sweet and malty. I used 11 lbs of pale. 1 lb. of caramel and 12 oz. of my brumalt. I mashed in at 143F for 15 min and decocted a gallon of mash to get to 152F for 1 hour. The final gravity was 1.013 making the ABV 6.09%

 

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2016 in Feed barley, The beers

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “Feed Barley I.P.A.

  1. weehee

    April 29, 2016 at 3:25 pm

    Nice looking beer, good head retention? I find when people use fruity hops with light crystal malts you can get a pleasant jam/jelly & honey flavour.

    re phenolic smell. What type?
    http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/j.2050-0416.1976.tb03715.x/epdf

    I think unless you are using store bought malts and doing the same beer without the phenolic smells then it could be from other sources. I’m pretty sure I get plastic phenolic smells when dry-hopping with cascade unfortunately, I’m not sure if this is the hop source or it still being in solution when bottling.

    If you are using plastic to ferment in or transfer you might want to heat sterilise it in case there’s residue yeast from a previous batch or a wild yeast (just make sure your fermenter won’t crumple in the heat, I think PET bottles would) [got this tip from Chad Yakobson from crooked stave regarding brett cross contamination].

    This abstract has a few other places it could come from: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/j.2050-0416.1974.tb03630.x/abstract

    Just thought I’d get the ball rolling, it’s a good blog!

     
    • jfdyment

      April 29, 2016 at 6:30 pm

      Great articles, thanks for these! Interesting that you’ve noticed plastic smells coming from the cascade hops. I was kind of hoping that it was the hops and not my process. I think it’s the medicinal, band aid like flavour but since it’s faint I find it hard to tell. I’ve been using all glass (bottles and carboys) sanitized and then soaked in boiling water but my hoses could use replacing for sure. There’s always something to pull the planets out of alignment. Cheers!

       
  2. weehee

    April 30, 2016 at 1:36 pm

    Awesome, hope you find the culprit soon! Also, FWIW, I use the campden tablet trick but I do it 30-60 minutes before brewing, I might be mistaken but I thought the reaction takes place extremely fast but I’ve got very soft water with low chloramine and chlorine levels, it’s so cheap that it’s probably more of a better safe than sorry type of thing.

    Btw, thanks for the blog, you are one of the only people covering this topic and it’s really interesting to follow when you can’t currently do it yourself! I’d love to be able to do this some time later, I might look into getting briggs book. It’s definitely reassuring when you’ve gotten such a high efficiency from feed malt! Best of luck with your competition!

     
    • jfdyment

      April 30, 2016 at 11:28 pm

      It’s a fun hobby, I highly recommend it. Even small batches of specialty malts are worth the effort. I’m always looking for new projects, are there any particular malts you’d like to see made?

       
  3. Demy B

    May 3, 2016 at 10:10 am

    Great result! I too have had a very good yield (85%) with barley produced in house (fodder). I think it imported fine grinding: many suggest to grind coarse but with fine grinding I always perform well. I have a question that is out of the post: suppose to make a malt, what changes if I reach the high color temperature for a short time (not toasted) rather than low temperature for a long time? I speak not of malt base but of special grains (amber, brown etc.)..my usualy questions…..very thank

     
    • jfdyment

      May 3, 2016 at 5:54 pm

      Hi Demy, if you raise the temperature while there is still moisture in the grain (over 10%) you will destroy the enzymes which is fine if you’re making specialty malts without any diastatic power. Expect dry toasty flavours, but depending on the temperature you will have some caramelization or proteolysis. Check out my posts on diastatic brown malt. I tried to document the effects of high temperatures on diastatic power. From my understanding Amber and Victory start out as pale malt and are roasted a little further. If you’re asking what kind of malt you get if you skip the slow kilning? I’m not sure if anyone is selling such a malt but I could be wrong. Esentially it would be a light brown malt. Also when you have a lot of moisture in the grain and the temperature is high, then you get popping as the moisture cannot escape fast enough. The kernal bursts or expands in size. This is what “blown” malt is. For the diastatic brown malt that I made I tried to keep the temperature low enough so that this wouldn’t happen but high enough so that it would dry fast. I had a quite a few occasionally pop and then I knew I would have to lower the temperature. But I was also trying to maintain enzymes. This sounds like a worthwhile malt to experiment with. You could create different levels of brown malt including very pale versions.

       
  4. Demy B

    May 4, 2016 at 7:54 pm

    Thanks for your answer. I know that the wet malt “crackles” at high temperatures: just a few days ago I experienced blow Barley (unmalted) with this procedure and it seems to work … My question stems from the fact that I was doing the “biscuit” malt, my info on the final Kuring said 150 ° C .. but I did an experiment, I used a temperature of 120 ° and it took several hours to get the desired color, but I got more intense aroma and this made me think …. i know that enzymes are destroyed with still wet malt high temperature and .. usually I taste a few grains to see if it’s time to turn up or not (I know, you should weigh!)

     
  5. weehee

    June 17, 2016 at 3:48 pm

    Apologies for the late reply, unfortunately I suffered a power surge and lost a lot of the information I wanted to pass on. I was reading on the wiley institute of brewing website about the phenols and a lot of information came up in the whisky category, particularly comparing malt dried via a peat fire vs electric element (still produced some phenols).

    With regards to what malt?!! I don’t know! Maybe a historic one from an extinct/endangered beer, maybe a different grain?

    One of the links I do remember is this interesting talk about breeding, malting and how variety produced different flavours:

    https://youtu.be/75V3t7gg9FM?t=23m21s (starts talking about how some small maltsters use feed barley successfully). It might be worth getting in contact with them for advise? Likewise I’m sure there’s some grain merchants who would do it?

    I passed your blog onto another blogger who is doing a similar thing http://edsbeer.blogspot.co.uk/2016/05/home-malting.html

    Also on a tangent it seems a lot more people have started to supplement campden tablets during lager brewing for home brewing, not sure if there’s any substance whatsoever behind it but I thought I’d pass it on.

     
  6. Johnny Rinehold

    July 19, 2016 at 3:40 am

    These fellas seem to be well above my level in brewing. Very pretty beer. Very clear. None of mine are since that’s unimportant to me. From what Rod my brewing buddy tells me, the water we use is near perfect for Pilsner. I’m totally unfamiliar with the tablets you use but I was happy that you used a feed grade barley. I use Alta barley that I grow which is a six-row barley developed for feed and brewing. Thanks for the new barley seed. I planted the 3 ounces soon after you sent it. After threshing and weighing it, I’ll replant all of it come October and hope for a great increase. From the ground to the bottle, I want to do it all.

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Meandering Meadery

Cultivating fermented food and drinks one jar at a time

Sprowt

Home Malting Equipment for the Home Brewer

Brülosophy

They Who Drink Beer Will Think Beer

Immaculate Brewery

Growing, malting and brewing beer

Creative Brewing

by Scott Ickes

A Brewer's Wife

Law librarian, brewer's wife and mom of three girls (not necessarily in that order)

From Plants to Beer

The real route of beer

My Own Home Brew

My record and experience in brewing

F Words I Love

Fresh. Frugal. Fermented. Free.

Romping & Nguyening

Romping around the world and Nguyening since March 2014.

Brewing Beer The Hard Way

Growing, malting and brewing beer

Five Blades Brewing

F' Everything, We're Doing Five Blades

The Jax Beer Guy

This Guy Knows Beer -- Also visit www.JaxBeerGuy.com

East Happyland Homebrew Garden Louisiana

Gardening hops, grains, vegetables, and brewing beer in South Louisiana. And they said it couldn't be done....

Bergfast bryggeri

Et lite kjellerbryggeri blir til

The Apartment Homebrewer

Brewing small batches of craft beer in a 650 sqft apartment

Redneck Brewing

Because good beer doesn't require sophistication.

Bishop's Beer Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Quest for Edelstoff

Making Liquid Bread

